Can you still enjoy your favorite cool and creamy treat, even if you need to give up dairy???
Absolutely! There are many great alternatives available! Commercially, my favorite dairy-free ice cream is made from oat milk- but other varieties are made from soy, coconut, or almond milk. You can even make your own! Then, you get to control the quality and quantity of ALL of the ingredients.
Keep in mind, vegan is not the same thing as healthy or sugar free. It just means that there are no animal products present, including dairy. Sometimes, there may even be additional fat and/or sugar to make up for the lack of creamy dairy. So, check labels. But, remember- ice cream is a treat and should be treated as such. Sometimes, it's ok to just relax and enjoy it! Also, beware of "healthy ice cream"- some things in life are just meant to be fun!
Vegan ice cream is made from milk and/or cream alternatives- such as coconut, oat, soy, or almond. If eggs are used, the ice cream would then be considered dairy free, but not vegan.
Not necessarily. With the absence of animal products, vegan ice cream contains less saturated fat and cholesterol. As far as fat, calories, sugar, and nutrients- this depends on the specific ingredients used. Check the label or make your own to control the nutrition.
While similar, vegan and dairy free are not synonyms. All vegan products are also dairy free; however, not all dairy-free products are vegan. A product could be dairy-free, but still include animal products. When in doubt, check the ingredient label.
With only 4 ingredients, plus a fun mix-in, this homemade vegan peanut butter ice cream makes a terrific, dairy-free treat!
Welcome- I'm so grateful you're here!
A mix of fit and fun (mostly gluten free) recipes for the real-food home cook.
Get a fresh delivery of only the goods delivered to your inbox.